Top Ten Tuesday Freebie

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s a Top Ten Tuesday Freebie, so I decided to do an old topic and give you my Top Ten Favorite Book Quotes. I utilized my Goodreads Favorite Quotes heavily for this, because I actually don’t really remember a lot of quotes from books, even if I do really love them at the time I read them. Most of my favorite quotes are from the Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus books (I’m nothing if not predictable), but to keep this from being redundant, I only picked one quote from those books to share.

lotr

ootp

tog

howl

wolf

athena

lemonysnicket

tsukiko

mal

duvalquote

What topic did you choose this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday Freebie

  1. Lucy says:

    Such a pretty post! I don’t take note of my favorite quotes, but seeing all of these great ones makes me want to start writing them down in a notebook or something. The quotes from Howl’s, Throne of Glass, and The Night Circus are my faves :)

  2. Fun topic, I like the Lemony Snicket quote! :) My TTT is Fictional Places I’d Love to Vacation

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    • Merin says:

      I love quotes about books. This one was particularly funny because the author is trying to convince you to go read one of those other books and not the one he’s written. :)

  3. Oh, I love the Grave Mercy quote! SO beautiful!

    – Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl (And The Broke and the Bookish). Visit my Top Ten Tuesday!

  4. I loved all the book references in Throne of Glass. Can’t wait for the next one!
    My Top Ten

  5. Great quotes, the one you chose for LOTR is certainly one of my favourites! :)

    My TTT

    • Merin says:

      The LotR quote makes me all swoony and I’m not even sure why! I just think it’s super pretty, and I love all the nods to Aragorn’s line. <3

  6. ChrissiReads says:

    Great quotes. I love finding a quote I really relate to in a book. I usually re-read it a few times and think ‘Wow!’. Great list! I looked at British Reads for my Top 10.

  7. readerswonderland says:

    Ah, I love quotes :) I usually don’t catch good quotes when I reading so I go back on Goodreads and check them out that way. Great list!

    Alise @ Readers In Wonderland
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  8. I love that quote from The Titan’s Curse. TRUTH!

  9. Nemo says:

    What a fantastic collection of quotes! I love the Throne of Glass one and the Harry Potter one.

  10. I was going to say my favorite of these is the one from Lemony Snickett…. but then I read the one from Grave Mercy. Le sigh! So many great quotes!!!

  11. What a great TTT topic!!
    I loke the first 2 best of all.
    Kerri @ Turn the Page Reviews
    http://turnthepagereviews.com

  12. I freaking love Rick Riordan! His books are so fun :D Love all the quotes!

    Janina
    My TTT!

  13. I *almost* did this topic, but I can never remember book quotes either. I have a book quote journal, but– surprise, surprise — I have a hard time remembering to actually use it! Anyway, you’ve got some wonderful quotes here. Thanks for sharing.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  14. Tons of good lines… especially love the one from Grave Mercy! Thanks so much for stopping by. :)
    Bonnie @ Sweet Tidbits

  15. Dianne says:

    It’s been a while since I read that passage from LOTR. It’s one of my favourites from that series and I’m so glad you posted it so I could read it again. Thanks!

  16. sashandem says:

    Love these quotes! Especially the one from Grave Mercy :)

  17. Quinn says:

    Okay, so some of these made me a little swoony! I think I need to read Grave Mercy asap :)

    I’m not really a quote person. I just don’t pay all that much attention. I mean, I am paying attention when I’m reading the books, but not thinking oooh, I like how the author strung those words together or anything.

    But I love the Harry Potter one! And the LIRBARY one for sure! And the Lemony Snicket one! So true!

    Great TTT post.

    • Merin says:

      I tend to go through the Goodreads quotes for the books and find the ones I particularly liked. Or sometimes, I will read a line – like the library one from Throne of Glass – and add it immediately because I loved it so much. Like that Grave Mercy quote? It comes up at the end, and as soon as I read it, I dashed onto Goodreads and liked it. That one – and the one by Howl – make me swoon quite a bit. :)

      And yes, YES, read Grave Mercy! It was one of my favorite books from 2012.

  18. vmcarswell says:

    These are some really great quotes! I am reading The Titan’s Curse right now actually and I just finished Scarlet. There are a couple others I recognize as well. Great topic choice. Thanks for stopping by! New follower :-)

    Vyki @ On The Shelf

  19. These are all fabulous. I can literally hear Cate Blanchett (is that how you spell her name? I’m too lazy to look it up) when I read the LotR quote! I love the Throne of Glass quote, too. I need to pick this book up. I’ve heard so many good things. I still need to read Grave Mercy, too. Great list! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I sent you a GR friend request. I don’t know how we weren’t friends already!
    -Natalie @Natflix&Books

    • Merin says:

      Yep, it is! But I think Liv Tyler is the one who actually says the last four lines in the film. In the book it’s in a letter from Gandalf, which I’d totally forgotten. I really need to re-read the books.

      And thank you for the GR friend request! :)

  20. Adriana says:

    Oh my goodness the Howl quote is going to make me cry! I love Howl and Sophie (:
    I am envious of all your great quotes. I feel like I don’t have that much great ones directly from books only old dead folk :P which isn’t bad either but still.

  21. Risbee says:

    What a great list — all of those quotes are amazing. I did quotes too — it was really hard to narrow it down to ten :)

    My TTT

  22. Molli says:

    MAAAAAAAAAL. Oh Merin, you could NOT have chosen ANY other quote that would have made me smile bigger. LOVE Mal and that quote so much.

    • Merin says:

      As soon as I read that one, I went onto Goodreads and added it as a favorite. I love that quote so much, which is why I was so frustrated with Mal in Siege and Storm. But we already talked about that. :)

  23. I love the Rick Riordan quote! I always wonder how authors are able to think up such incredible words of wisdom! It’s astounding. Great list, I’m gonna have to add a lot of these to my Goodreads quotes as well :D

  24. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #52 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.