Waiting on Wednesday #51

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for Antigoddess by Kendare Blake (Tor Teen):

antigoddessOld Gods never die…

Or so Athena thought. But then the feathers started sprouting beneath her skin, invading her lungs like a strange cancer, and Hermes showed up with a fever eating away his flesh. So much for living a quiet eternity in perpetual health.

Desperately seeking the cause of their slow, miserable deaths, Athena and Hermes travel the world, gathering allies and discovering enemies both new and old. Their search leads them to Cassandra—an ordinary girl who was once an extraordinary prophetess, protected and loved by a god.

These days, Cassandra doesn’t involve herself in the business of gods—in fact, she doesn’t even know they exist. But she could be the key in a war that is only just beginning.

Because Hera, the queen of the gods, has aligned herself with other of the ancient Olympians, who are killing off rivals in an attempt to prolong their own lives. But these anti-gods have become corrupted in their desperation to survive, horrific caricatures of their former glory. Athena will need every advantage she can get, because immortals don’t just flicker out.

Every one of them dies in their own way. Some choke on feathers. Others become monsters. All of them rage against their last breath.

The Goddess War is about to begin.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Um, hello? It mentions my massive book weakness right in the summary: gods and goddesses! If it’s got mythology, of COURSE I’m going to read it without question. Plus I’ve heard great things about Kendare Blake as an author (I still need to read Anna Dressed in Blood), and Antigoddess has already received some very positive reviews. I will definitely be checking it out as soon as it’s released!

Release Date: September 10, 2013

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #51

  1. I am SO excited about this one!!!! I’ve had my eye on it for quite a while now!

  2. Ummmm I cannot tell you how excited I am for this one. Seriously, Kendare has the most amazing, vivid writing style, and I just loved Anna Dressed in Blood, so I’m definitely on board for this title. Wonderful pick this week! :)

  3. vmcarswell says:

    Yes! Excellent pick! I loved both Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares, so of course I want to read this one as well. It needs to get here sooner! Thanks for stopping by :-)

    Vyki @ On The Shelf

  4. scottreadsit says:

    I really want to read this one because I love her Anna books! Here’s my WoW!
    -Scott Reads It

  5. I also need to read her Anna series! My friend recently read the first and really enjoyed it! This one looks super awesome because I am all about the greek mythology! Great choice Merin!

    Thanks for stopping by my WOW earlier!

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

  6. Brenna says:

    I want to read this one too! :) Thanks for posting!

    Thanks for stopping by My WoW

  7. Kristina D says:

    I somehow missed this one but will be adding it to my tbr. Thanks for stopping by

  8. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #52 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.