Top Ten Words/Topics That Will Make You NOT Read A Book

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic was a really difficult one for me: the Top Ten Words and/or Topics That Make You NOT Pick Up A Book. I … really don’t think I have any! As such, this was extremely hard to put together, but because I wanted to participate, I changed it a bit so that these are things that make me look sidelong at a book and internally debate whether I’m going to read it or not. In most cases, they’re not definite deal breakers – I’ve read plenty of books that involve most of these topics or phrases – but they are things that make me think hard about whether I’m going to pick up the book or not.

toptentopics

1) Love Triangles: I find this a really tired trope that’s particularly found in YA these days. I’ll read books that feature them, but I tend to get annoyed fairly quickly with the characters involved.

2) BDSM: I think my biggest issue with books dealing with this type of subject matter is that authors tend to not handle it as carefully or appropriately as they should. This is based purely on hearsay, though, because I’ve never read a book that features this topic.

3) The next “x”: Anything calling itself the “next” [insert name of popular title here] always earns a raised eyebrow. I really wish publishers would stop.

4) Vampires: Fairly self-explanatory, no? I’m just kind of tired of vampire stories.

5) Badly-Behaving Authors: I won’t support authors that attack reviewers. That’s a definite deal breaker for me. If you can’t handle negative reviews, you are probably in the wrong profession.

6) Anything compared to Harry Potter: This isn’t as big a thing anymore, but once upon a time, it was right in line with #3 above. Don’t call yourself the next HP, because you’re just NOT.

7) Pulled-to-publish fanfiction: This seems to be particularly huge in the Twilight fandom, and I just really can’t get behind it. Particularly since most of those stories are still available in their original form if you know how to Google.

8) Zombies: While I’ve been reading more books dealing with zombies of late, they still make me nervous. I’m always afraid the book is going to be too gruesome for me.

9) Audiobook: I just don’t have the attention span necessary to listen to audiobooks. I really want to like them, but I just can’t pay attention for long enough amounts of time.

10) Erotica: I love romance novels, but I don’t want to read a book that’s simply all about the sex. It’s just not a genre I’m interested in at all.

So that’s what I finally settled on this week! What are your no-no topics and/or words? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Top Ten Words/Topics That Will Make You NOT Read A Book

  1. #7 has really had me head-scratching recently. What has the publishing world come to? =/

    I forgot to list love triangles on my list this week, am definitely tired of that trope in any medium (though I blame Grey’s Anatomy for that, sucked my soul getting through all those love triangle dramas -_-;)

    My TTT

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    Great list! I nearly put love triangles on mine. They’re just becoming so predictable and over-used which is annoying.

  3. I agree with this whole list!!! I hate fanfiction turned published….IT IS SO ANNOYING!!!!! Grrrrr. And nothing will ever be the next HP, so don’t even try! LOL. And Zombies scare me! My friend made me sit through Walking Dead……NIGHTMARES!!! Great list!!

    My TTT

  4. I used to totally feel that way about audiobooks but then I started listening to them when I walk my dogs-made it so much more enjoyable!

    • Merin says:

      I have a couple of them on my iPod, so think I’m going to start listening to them in the morning while I get ready for work. That’s about all the time I’d be able to devote to the story at one time, I think, before my mind wandered and I stopped paying attention!

  5. I just want to echo your sentiments regarding books marketed as “The Next…” A book should stand on its own merit and not need to be compared to something else in order to garner attention and popularity. Plus, I tend to have a particular distaste for those type of flavour-of-the-month type stories (i.e. Fifty Shades of Grey) so often the comparison acts as more of a hindrance than a help.

  6. Bekka @ Pretty Deadly Reviews says:

    Lots of great stuff on here. I am getting tired of the Next Big Title for Fans of Blah Blah Blockbuster. Most of the time, it’s related to Twilight or The Hunger Games, in which case I will turn away from that book STAT. I did not like Twilight the first time I read it, and I won’t like your iteration of it either. This also goes back to the p2p fan fic you mentioned which I can’t stand both on ethical and literary grounds. It’s disgusting.

    Bekka
    Pretty Deadly Reviews

  7. We have some similar put-offs!
    I agree with you about badly behaving authors. They shouldn’t pick on people for having their own opinions. That’s just rude.
    I’m not keen on audiobooks, either. I just don’t think I could concentrate enough on the story.
    My Top Ten post :)

  8. The next “x” – This does get annoying but I find myself curious about them sometimes.

  9. Lucy says:

    I went to a fanfiction panel at Comic-Con and there was a pretty good discussion about the p2p books. And yes about badly behaving authors- they are really shooting themselves in the foot with their antics.

  10. I am a fast reader and to me audiobooks seem like such a slow way to go that I’ve never been into them, however I am going to try some this summer on a road trip while I’m driving.

  11. I agree with all of them, although I do like to read vampire books:) I always fall asleep while listening to audiobooks, when I wake up I’m halfway through the book..

    My TTT:
    http://evelinesbooks.blogspot.nl/2013/07/top-ten-tuesday-8.html

  12. Litza says:

    Okay, I have to admit that I had absolutely no idea what BDSM is… then my blissful ignorance was shattered. Bleh. Definitely not something I would like to read. There are so many things on your list that I just wanted to shout a big ol’ “Yes! I hate those too!” and shake my fist at them. I also can’t do zombies… they’re on my list, too. :P Thanks for your awesome list!

    Litza @ She Dreams in Fiction

  13. angelicreader says:

    It is amazing how much trouble I had coming up with ten items to put on my list and now that I went through everyone else’s list I have found at least another ten to add onto mine.

    I am just as tired of love triangles. It has been used up.

  14. Andi ABCs says:

    Audiobooks! Yes!!! I thought I was the only one. I just don’t think I could listen to an audiobook while doing other things. I would much rather read the book then someone read it to me.

    My TTT List

  15. ACReads says:

    Badly behaving authors – I should have included that in my list! I agree with you so much on that one. Sadly, so many authors have been tainted for me after hearing how nasty they were to reviewers/bloggers. Just thinking about it gets my blood boiling!

  16. scottreadsit says:

    My list looks pretty similar! I am not comfortable with reading about BDSM either!
    Check out my TTT!
    -Scott Reads It!

  17. Quinn says:

    I did the same thing. Listed topics that make me hesitate to read a book. yes to Love triangles!!! They just piss me off. And damn straight that nothing is the Next Harry Potter! It’s just not possible. I’ve never read erotica or BDSM books, and they are definitely not something I’m interested in, although I do love me some romance! But I like the romance because I like to see two characters connecting, not because of the sexy times.

  18. heartjess says:

    Totally on board with your list, except I don’t mind listening to audiobooks on a long trip. I’d rather ‘read’ a book than listen to the radio, so when I’ve got hours ahead of me, I like that option.

    And I was recently able to get on board with zombies, thanks to The Walking Dead.

    Here’s my TTT!

    Jess @ Such A Novel Idea

  19. Great list-especially #3! I can’t do audiobooks either- not a multitasked- if I listened in the car I would probably crash!

  20. Jackie says:

    I don’t like erotica and I don’t like audiobooks. Great list(:
    Jackie

    http://www.nobentspines.blogspot.com/2013/07/top-ten-tuesday.html

  21. YES to audiobooks. I can’t believe I didn’t think of putting that on my list! Maybe because it’s not a genre, but whatever. I agree — I certainly don’t have the attention span or the inclination to listen to an entire audiobook. I’d just get bored, no matter how sexy the voice on the other side is.

  22. C. C. Gevry says:

    Love this list, though I am a fan of audiobooks if they have a good narrator. I’ve listened to a few where the narrator is awful and it makes it a painful experience.

    http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/

  23. Molli says:

    Oh GOSH, “the next….” IRKS ME so much. I just wrote a rant-y discussion post about it, in fact. I’ll read a love triangle IF it’s GOOD and makes sense for the characters – like it makes them grow/etc. It annoys me when I don’t know one is coming though and then it’s just like BAM, GOTCHA.

    Molli | Once Upon a Prologue

  24. Audiobooks are a no-no for me too. Great list!

  25. Kelly L. says:

    I definitely agree with you on badly behaving authors. I can’t stand it and like you said, if you can’t accept it, then it’s just not the right profession for you.
    And ohh, I just noticed that Nancy designed your blog! No wonder it’s so lovely. ;D<3
    Great list! (:

    My TTT

  26. I’ve never actually read a book that features BDSM either, but I just know they aren’t for me. I so agree with being turned off by the statement: The next…whatever (but especially HP). I just don’t even understand why authors would let their book be compared to something so awesome on the cover. It will inevitably be a let down to anybody who reads it (making them tell their friends: don’t read this). Also, don’t you want your book to be so original that comparisons can’t be made? Ok, sorry for the rant. Great list!

  27. I really love audiobooks so much – sometimes I’ll read a book and then re-read it via audiobook, but I respect that not everyone is the same way. Also interesting and is that I actually don’t mind love triangles but I’ve seen them all over lists today. Because I know that I’m pretty much the only person out there that doesn’t mind them (if they’re well-done), I’ll always try and note if there is a love triangle in the book I’m reviewing at the list at the bottom of my review. I have a great blogger friend that basically refuses to read books that have love triangles in them. Different strokes, different folks. It’s really interesting seeing what everyone is putting on these lists today.

  28. Alisa Selene says:

    I agree 50 shades of grey= no way LOL

  29. It’s kind of funny how many people put down “the next [big name book]” on their lists – I did! It just doesn’t seem like a very appealing marketing tactic, at least not to me. I can’t say I’ve read any pulled-from-fanfiction novels, but honestly I’m a little curious. As long as I could borrow it/find another way to not pay for it! The only one I really disagree with you on is badly behaving authors. I can see why that bothers readers, certainly, but it doesn’t bother me necessarily. I guess I’ve had one too many English classes where it’s been drilled into my head that once a book is published, it’s a completely separate entity from the author and therefore the author doesn’t matter anymore. So yeah I can pretty easily disassociate the author (along with any questionable behavior) from the book itself. *shrugs*

  30. Great list! Some of these I should’ve included on my own TTT, but I didn’t think of them. BDSM, erotica, audiobooks, fanfic, bad authors… no thanks! I think the only one that I actually am interested in on this list is zombies. I have no idea why. I don’t care for vampires or werewolves or other mythical creatures… but zombies? Sure! Still, I’m like you. Even though some of these things will definitely make me hesitate when picking up a book, they aren’t necessarily deal-breakers.

  31. Becca says:

    I don’t really mind erotica, but I definitely have a hard time with BDSM. Fifty Shades of Gray totally started that, and now it seems like it’s in every other book. :/ Nice list!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.