REVIEW: Truly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne

trulymadlydeadlyTruly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne
Sourcebooks Fire, 2013
[Goodreads] [Amazon]

They Said It Was An Accident…

Sawyer Dodd is a star athlete, a straight-A student, and the envy of every other girl who wants to date Kevin Anderson. When Kevin dies in a tragic car crash, Sawyer is stunned. Then she opens her locker to find a note:

You’re welcome.

Someone saw what he did to her. Someone knows that Sawyer and Kevin weren’t the perfect couple they seemed to be. And that someone—a killer—is now shadowing Sawyer’s every move…

mythoughts

Truly, Madly, Deadly was a book I was really excited to read. It sounded like a creepy, intense thriller that would leave me on the edge of my seat, and the added bonus of a mystery stalker just further fueled my excitement. And while this book certainly had the atmosphere down pat, the book still left a bit to be desired, although I can say I did enjoy it overall.

First of all, this book strongly reminded me of two others that I’d read previously: Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf and Phantom by Laura DeLuca. Sawyer reminded me of the leading ladies in both books, which I think was part of the problem with this book for me personally. Elements from both books were used throughout – Sawyer is a singer, like Rebecca from Phantom, people are dropping dead mysteriously all around her just like in Phantom, and – most notably – her dead boyfriend, Kevin, was abusive, just like the dead boyfriend in Breaking Beautiful. There is also a massive similarity with one of them in terms of the climax of Truly, Madly, Deadly, which I’ll say no more about because I don’t want to spoil anyone. However, I want to be clear that I’m not trying to say that anything was copied – these are plot tropes that are used in many books throughout time – it’s just that those books were ones that stuck with me (both were 4-star reads), so I couldn’t help but notice how things about them overlapped. Most likely, if you’ve not read either of the books mentioned, you wouldn’t have that problem. But I did, so wanted to just be up-front about my reasonings, which definitely factored into my overall rating. Obviously, your mileage may vary.

One thing I want to give major props on, though, is the overall style of writing in this book. It was tense, eerie, and kept me glued to my Kindle and eagerly turning the pages. While I was fairly certain at about the halfway mark who the stalker was, there were plenty of times when I started thinking that perhaps I’d gotten in wrong. You could really feel Sawyer’s confusion, her fear, and the way she couldn’t figure out what was going on. While I didn’t love her seemingly instantaneous connection to Cooper, I did find their banter and the gentle way he handled her quite nice to read. It added a nice break from the action and chaos surrounding her; while I enjoy trying to solve mysteries and looking for clues, sometimes it’s equally as fun to not have that mystery overwhelm you, too.

All in all, I definitely enjoyed Truly, Madly, Deadly. For those who like mysteries and whodunnits, this one is definitely a good one. While I did feel that some things could have been handled better – including the reasoning behind the ultimate “villain” – this was still a really fun and enjoyable way to spend a few hours. If you’re looking for a fast, quick, and eerie read with a wonderfully creepy vibe, definitely check this one out!

3stars

An e-galley was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

signature2

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to REVIEW: Truly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne

  1. I really enjoyed this one, Merin. I rated it 4 stars. I didn’t think it was perfect, but I enjoyed the quick pace and excitement. I wish I had read the other books so I can make the comparison.

    • Merin says:

      It did read really quickly. I was surprised how fast I was finished with it. I thought the suspense and tension were really first rate, but I didn’t really care for the motivation of the person stalking Sawyer. I’m not really a fan of that trope, so that sort of bothered me quite a bit.

  2. This sounds really good! I am listing!

  3. MsJohannah says:

    I can’t wait to read it!

  4. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #57 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.