Waiting on Wednesday #10

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s Waiting on Wednesday post is for Poison by Bridget Zinn (Disney/Hyperion):

Sixteen-year-old Kyra, a highly-skilled potions master, is the only one who knows her kingdom is on the verge of destruction—which means she’s the only one who can save it. Faced with no other choice, Kyra decides to do what she does best: poison the kingdom’s future ruler, who also happens to be her former best friend.

But, for the first time ever, her poisoned dart… misses.

Now a fugitive instead of a hero, Kyra is caught in a game of hide-and-seek with the king’s army and her potioner ex-boyfriend, Hal. At least she’s not alone. She’s armed with her vital potions, a too-cute pig, and Fred, the charming adventurer she can’t stop thinking about. Kyra is determined to get herself a second chance (at murder), but will she be able to find and defeat the princess before Hal and the army find her?

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

To me, this book screams “kick-ass heroine” and I have a definite soft spot for girls who know how to take care of themselves. I like the fact that Kyra makes a mistake and then goes about trying to fix it, and I’m intrigued by this entire world. Why is the kingdom on the verge of destruction? Why are Kyra and the princess no longer friends? There are so many questions presented in the summary and it makes me itch to get my hands on a copy of the book to satisfy my curiosity. This book hints at a potential romance for the main character, and I’m just hoping that it doesn’t dominate the story and that Kyra is able to maintain her seemingly awesome abilities even if she does get involved with the “charming adventurer”.

Release Date: March 12, 2013

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Feel free to link me up! :)

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #10

  1. Brittany says:

    This kind of reminds me of Graceling and Grave Mercy. Good choice!! I’ll have to keep my eyes open for this one as well :)

    • Merin says:

      You’re right, it does! I liked Graceling, and loved Grave Mercy, so if it’s anything like that one in reality I’m sure I will love it.

  2. cgiovanniwrites says:

    Waiting on Born in Flames by Candace Knoebel!

  3. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    We have a long time to wait, but this looks really good! :) The cover kind of reminds me of Snow White and the Huntsman which isn’t a good thing when I think of Kristen Stewart, but I like the idea because I LOVE kick ass heroines, which I hope this one will bring!

    Here’s my WoW.

    Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

    • Merin says:

      I know! Initially I think it was supposed to be out in January, which would still be a wait, but not as bad as March! And the cover is eerily reminiscent of Snow White and the Huntsman. I wish we could get some truly original covers; I’m getting tired of the same old, same old.

  4. Mel@thedailyprophecy says:

    I LOVE the cover and the blurb <3

    Come take a look at my Wow :)

  5. Wow, this does sound like it has the potential to be really, really good! I’ll definitely have to keep this on my radar.

  6. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #13 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

