#BookADay :: I Pretend to Have Read It

bookaday

The Borough Press is encouraging everyone to tweet a #BookADay all throughout June to celebrate Independent Booksellers Week, which begins 28th June. My posts can also be found on my Tumblr!

kindlewithbooks

I Pretend to Have Read It: Um … None?

Okay, today’s #BookADay topic actually made me scratch my head a bit because, well … I don’t pretend to have read books. I’m pretty forthcoming when I don’t like something or just haven’t read it. I’m not afraid to mark something as “unfinished” (or, if I think I might someday get back to it, as “on hold”) on my Goodreads account, and am not afraid to put a book down that isn’t doing it for me. In that same vein, if I don’t want to read something – like, say, the last two books of the Hunger Games series – then I just don’t read them. And I’ll tell anyone who asks exactly why. There are tons of books that people probably think I “should” read – and I probably think I should read them, too – and maybe I’ll eventually get to them. But I’m not going to pretend to have read something I haven’t actually read. That honestly seems a bit ridiculous to me.

signature2

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #BookADay :: I Pretend to Have Read It

  1. Briana says:

    I’ve always found the concept of pretending to have read books absurd, too. Is the world really going to think less of you if you haven’t read a particular book? No. There’s nothing to gain, and you’ll get a lot more out of a conversation if you say you haven’t read a book and someone then either tells you about the book or gives you good reasons to read it.

    As far as my personal encounters go, two types of people pretend to read books: pretentious people who think they look smarter or more cultured if they claim to have read a bunch of classics, and people who are trying to get you to like them by pretending to like the same books you do. That isn’t to say people don’t have other reasons I haven’t yet encountered.

    • Merin says:

      You know, pretentious is exactly the word that comes to mind for me if people are pretending to have read things. I almost wrote that in the post, actually, but decided to word it in a slightly nicer way. :)

      I just feel like reading is so subjective, and there’s so MUCH out there available to read, that you shouldn’t feel pressure to say you’ve read something when you haven’t.

      • Briana says:

        I thought about whether I wanted to say “pretentious,” too. :p Then I figured that it’s what I mean, and that I’m just leaving a comment, so I don’t think anyone is going to find me and accuse me of being abrasive. (If someone does get upset, maybe they’re the type of pretentious person who lies about having read books!) Which, really, it is lying, so I’m not sure what kind of defense someone would come up with for that.

        I guess a third scenario is lying about having read a book for class, which, again, I don’t think is a good idea. But I do think it’s more…understandable, I suppose, than simply pretending to have read a book for the sake of your ego. It’s a “I don’t want to get in trouble with the teacher” scenario, which I think people can generally relate to.

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

