Follow Friday #5

To join in the fun and make new book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1) (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}
2) (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers
3) Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky Thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
4) Grab the button and place it in a post; this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
5) Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just  follow: comment and say hi! Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”.
6) If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love … and the followers.

Question: Summer Reading. What was your favorite book that you were REQUIRED to read when you were in school?

I never had required summer reading, but I was actually quite lucky in terms of the books I was required to read during the school year, because I can honestly say that I liked most of them quite a bit. I’m torn between Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow and Catch-22 by Joseph Heller as my favorites (both were required for my Senior Literature and Composition course), and I also really liked The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Candide by Voltaire, and Dante’s Inferno.

If you’re interested in following me, you can use any method you’d like, although I’m partial to Linky Followers. If you have a WordPress blog, however, please use the little “follow” link in the upper left-hand corner!

This entry was posted in Follow Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Follow Friday #5

  1. Ali says:

    You must have much better teachers than me ~ as you had much better books!! :)

  2. Hi Merin
    I also loved Catch 22. Hated The Great Gatsby, though. I saw the movie, I think with Robert Redford, and that made it tolerable! Now they making a new movie, which i guess I will trot off to see too. Thanks for the follow. And yes, you are part of the Pledged tour. (I hope you are enjoying reading it *wince*) I have followed you on your Linky as you requested. Have a great weekend.

    • Merin says:

      Hi, Gwynneth! I actually haven’t had a chance to start it yet, since we have to wait a while to post our reviews. This is good, because it gives me a chance to get caught up on all my review requests!

      Thanks for the follow! I should be making my giveaway post for Pledged soon. :)

  3. Ferrinas says:

    I’ve read The Great Gatsby and Candide, though neither were for school. I thought they were wonderful and I wish we could have studied them in class. My English teachers had us read more contemporary novels, alongside Shakespeare. We did learn about Voltaire in my French class though; he had quite an interesting, eventful life. :)

    • Merin says:

      I think some of our required reading would have gone better for me if I’d been allowed to read it on my own (like The Scarlet Letter; if I had to hear one more thing about its ~symbolism~ I would have gone nuts!). But overall I really was lucky with what we were assigned. The ones I really didn’t like were Native Son, Siddhartha, and Catcher in the Rye. A great big “UGH” to all three of them.

  4. trish says:

    i liked the Great Gatsby too. I can’t wait to see the new movie coming out. I hope they don’t ruin it!
    trish – my ff

  5. Oh! I really enjoyed Dante’s Inferno too. I read it my senior year and had to do some crazy project, it was interesting.

    Preet @ AWR

    • Merin says:

      The class the year before us had to create their own version of Hell, and they had a lot of fun with it. We didn’t have to do that, and I’m kind of torn between being glad, and wondering what I could have come up with!

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  6. Hopping through. I read The Great Gatsby in 11th grade. I like it then but I think I’d like it a lot more now.
    My Hop

  7. I think that I’d have a better appreciation now for a lot of the books that I had to read for school than I did back then. The Great Gatsby definitely falls in that category. I read part of Inferno for senior year and would really like to read it in its entirety one day.

    Love the new layout! Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #11 –

  9. Michelle L. says:

    you had better teachers than me, mine were so old fashioned, almost retirement age (this was in the mid 80’s too), and made us read some of the most boring classics, lol, but I am not into gushy romances, but that’s me. Anyway, glad you liked the ones you had to read.

  10. QI love Catch-22! I read it in my first year of college. So funny! (And horrifying). Will follow through wordpress

  11. Sorry I’m late! Had a busy weekend.

    You listed some great books. Very jealous. Catch-22 would’ve been awesome to read in school. Much more interesting than some of the books that were required back in the day.

    Thank you for stopping by my FF. I followed you via RSS – Google Reader :0)

  12. Hi,

    Hopping on through from the feature and follow!
    
Hosted BY Parajunkee & Alison Can Read.
    New Buddy, Please…. Cyber stalk me back! 

    Thanks,

    http://dawnandwinniebookreviews.blogspot.com


    PS
    
My Summer Read was…Things Fall Apart By Chinua Achebe (Author) it was interesting ☺

  13. I LOVE The Great Gatsby! That was one of the few books in American Lit I actually finished…and enjoyed! =)

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.