Stacking the Shelves #30 – Christmas Edition!

stsbanner

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, which is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. You can read more about the creation of Stacking the Shelves by visiting the official launch page here.

Joining the masses today in showing off my Christmas haul! I honestly didn’t get too many bookish presents – most of these were Kindle books I bought myself – but I had a really nice Christmas overall and couldn’t be happier! Although you’ll notice a definite theme with my books this week. :)

bornatmidnight childrenofhurin embrace handmaidstale thehobbit

thehobbitchronicles thehost letspretend lordoftherings

 fellowship twotowers returnoftheking silmarillion

Purchased/Gifts:

Bookish Gifts:

My biggest bookish gift was a new Kindle Paperwhite! I’ve named her Lúthien, after the character in J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Silmarillion, and while I haven’t played around with her too much, I do LOVE that I can connect to my Amazon account and download any books I have in my account without having to do anything but tap the icon. So cool! I also received some very cute cupcake magnetic clip bookmarks, an Amazon giftcard, and a The Hobbit wall calendar.

Other Gifts:

howlsmovingcastlesherlock
Howl’s Moving Castle DVD and BBC’s Sherlock Season Two from my dad and stepmom

So those are my highlights! I also got some new clothes, an iTunes giftcard, and various other small things, but figured no one really wants to read a detailed list. :)

So what did you get this week? Please link me!

My Weekly Recap

12/24/12: WinterHaven Sleigh Tour – The Magic of Christmas + Giveaway
12/25/12: Christmas Greetings
12/26/12: Waiting on Wednesday #29 – Sky on Fire (Monument 14 #2) by Emmy Laybourne
12/27/12: Review of The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress
12/28/12: Review of The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

Upcoming Reviews

Michaela’s Gift by Cordelia Dinsmore
Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis
Shadowlands by Kate Brian

newsignature

This entry was posted in Stacking the Shelves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Stacking the Shelves #30 – Christmas Edition!

  1. Nafiza says:

    Fun acquisitions. Have you watched The Hobbit yet?

    • Merin says:

      I have! I really enjoyed it. We’re going to see it again next week, before I have to go back to work, although not in 3D, because my brother doesn’t do well with 3D. :)

  2. I’ve had Embrace and Born at Midnight for the longest and haven’t read them. *sigh* Hopefully I get to them soon!

    Janina
    My Haul!

    • Merin says:

      The sequel to Embrace is also on sale for Kindle, so I went ahead and just picked that one up, too. No clue when I’ll finally get to them! There’s so much to read and so little time! :)

  3. Melliane says:

    I heard great things about embrace! I didn’t know the others but happy reading!

    here is mine

  4. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Howl’s Moving Castle (both as book and movie) and well Sherlock is just brilliant. Also happy reading!

  5. jonababez says:

    I love your haul! I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about Born at Midnight and Embrace! Enjoy reading! :)

    I just posted mine. ;)

  6. AWESOME! Love your haul!

  7. Oh wow! Amazing haul! Merry Christmas to you :) You got so many awesome books and a KINDLE! Lucky you… I hope you enjoy everything and Happy New Year !!!

    • Merin says:

      It’s actually my second Kindle; I gave my old Kindle Keyboard to my mom, who doesn’t need anything fancy, but would still like more portability to take to and from work with her. :)

      Happy New Year to you, too! ♥

  8. Nice Tolkien-themed haul! I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never read any of the books or even seen any of the movies, though I’m quite eager to see The Hobbit because Richard Armitage (Thorin) is one of my favorite actors. Happy Holidays Merin!

    • Merin says:

      I read the LotR books a couple of years ago, and the Hobbit last year. The Hobbit is MUCH easier to read, so if you do ever get around to it, I’d recommend starting with that one!

      And he’s AMAZING as Thorin. :)

      Happy Holidays to you, too! ♥

  9. Wow. You have the Tolkien thing going on with your haul this week. Must admit, I do have one eye on getting the e-book of The Hobbit.

    You Mum and Dad have great taste giving you Sherlock Season Two for Xmas.

    Enjoy your reads and your DVDs.

    • Merin says:

      Thanks! I’d always wanted to own e-copies of the LotR books and The Hobbit, and figured I’d might as well go ahead and complete the set. :)

      Thanks for dropping by!

  10. Sweet haul! i am dying to get my hands on a Kindle Paperwhite, but they won’t deliver it to Canada so I’m slowly dying inside :( I love the books you got! So many epics reads! Hope you enjoy all that you got! Happy New Year and happy reading!

    MaryAnn|Chapter by Chapter
    What we got this week!

  11. Krystianna says:

    Amazing haul! I read The Host last month and it was super amazing. I’m really stoked for the movie release. I wish it was here already! I hope you enjoy all of your books. I also hope that you had an amazing holiday. :)

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  12. alexia561 says:

    What a great haul! Love the Tolkien theme! The Handmaids Tale is a great read, so hope you enjoy!

  13. Ivana says:

    You have an awesome mom. So much Tolkien love <3 <3 <3 I think Children of Hurin is the only one that I don't have on my shelf.
    I also got a tablet recently and I'm still looking for a name. OF COURSE it has to be something Tolkienesque :D
    Happy holidays :)

  14. Quinn says:

    Sherlock is such a good show! And what about the ending of Season 2! Oh my gosh, I am so impatient for the next season.

    Happy reading :)

  15. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    Oooh, looks like you’ve had a great haul. The Handmaid’s Tale looks interesting, I want to read that. So I’ll look out for your thoughts. And Tolkien haul or what!? haha.

    And How’s Moving Castle is brill! I got my second season of Vampire Diaries so that made me a happy bunny! :)

    Great haul. Happy reading and watching.

  16. Ooh great haul. I love Tolkien. I love Sherlock. It’s incredible. And yeah basically it looks like a good week for you.

    Here’s my post

    ~Danica Page
    Taking it One Spot at a Time

  17. Alicia♥ says:

    I spy The Hobbit! And Lord Of The Rings! I haven’t gotten down to these all-time-favourites of almost everyone around me and your post reminded me just how much I should read them! Christmas presents are awesome, enjoy reading!! :)

    My Haul

    • Merin says:

      Ha, yes, there’s also The Silmarillion and The Children of Hurin, which are also part of the same universe. I haven’t read those, but have read The Hobbit and LotR. If you get around to them, start with The Hobbit first! It’s easier to read. :)

  18. Theme? What Theme? ;) You’ve got to love Tolkien!
    Great haul, the book fairy really was good to you this x-mas!
    I’m a new RSS follower! Yay!
    Thanks for stopping by My STS!

  19. melissaseclecticbookshelf says:

    Great Gifts/Purchases! I loved The Host…and hope that you do too and that you also enjoy all you Tolkien goodies!

    My Added to the Bookshelf post!

    ♥ Melissa @ Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf

  20. MsJohannah says:

    I loove my kindle. Howl’s moving castle is a great movie!

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.