Top Ten Tuesday Rewind

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

For today’s Top Ten Rewind post, I’m going to do a topic from a few weeks ago: The Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread. I have SO MANY books I could put on this list! I am a compulsive book buyer (like most bloggers, I’d bet). This is a problem, because I literally have no where else to put books! This has forced me to really look at a book more objectively, instead of just going with that “yay, buy ALL the books!” feeling. But this was a recent change, so I still have far too many books sitting unread on my shelves. The sad thing is that I will probably never get to them all!

everneathEverneath by Brodi Ashton

divinersThe Diviners by Libba Bray

blackcityBlack City by Elizabeth Richards

grimmtalesGrimm Tales for Young and Old by Philip Pullman

ravenboysukThe Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

viciousdeepThe Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova

catastrophichistoryThe Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

incarnateIncarnate by Jodi Meadows

thewishingspellThe Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

tigerlilyTiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Honorable Mentions: The Selection by Kiera Cass, Unearthly by Cynthia Hand, all of the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel books by Michael Scott, Speechless by Hannah Harrington, Delirium by Lauren Oliver, Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson.

What topic did you choose this week? Please link me!

natllibraryworkersday

ALSO: Today is National Library Workers Day! If you pop in to a library, make sure to show the staff and volunteers some love!

newsignature

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday Rewind

  1. Unearthly is sooooo good. You should get to that series very soon. And I liked Delirium too. I always buy books even when I haven’t gotten through half the ones I have sitting on the shelf. It’s an addiction what can I say lol My TTT

  2. I really really adored The Raven boys and Everneath is a fast easy one!

    My TTT

  3. Janita says:

    The Diviners!! READ READ READ!! It’s the best historical-genre book I’ve read in sooo long! It’s also creepy and dark and just all around perfect. I highly recommend it!

  4. ChrissiReads says:

    Unearthly is a fabulous read, I hope you get round to reading it soon. It looks like you’ve got some great books to look forward to. Great list!

  5. Rebecca says:

    I really liked Everneath – I’m actually just starting the sequel! And even if you don’t like the actual book, you can always stare all day at that gorgeous cover, lol. I can’t really recommend Incarnate – the pacing was way to slow and the characters bordered on the “too perfect” side. Nice list!

  6. Man, the only one of these books I have actually read is Incarnate (which is fantastic, btw). The rest of these I have not bought but they are all on my TBR list hahaha!

    Thanks for stoppin’ by!

  7. Lucy says:

    Oh this is a good topic! I’ve read 3 of these, but also see several that are sitting on my shelf as well :) The Diviners is an intimidating one, isn’t it?

  8. Aw men, I wish I had these books, and I would read them! Especially since it’s summer already :)
    Top Ten Tuesday @ Divergent Gryffindor

  9. Great choice, I picked the same one one! Most of the books on your list are also sat unread on my shelves too. I really need to just stop buying books for a while and try to only read what I have – until the next shiny new book comes along ;)

    My Top 10 Tuesday!

  10. Anny says:

    This is a cool topic, love the list! I’ve only read Delirium out of the books you mentioned, and quite liked it aswell.

  11. Yes, compulsive book buying and entering lots of giveaways results in way too many books just sitting on the shelf waiting to be read! I actually haven’t read any of these, so you’re not alone. I must say I love that cover from Grimm Tales for Young and Old. I would buy that just for the cover!

    • Merin says:

      Ha, that’s the UK version! I bought it from Amazon UK simply for the cover, which is much more attractive than the US one, imo. Same with The Diviners. I am so jealous of the UK covers!

  12. Ohhh you definitely have to read The Raven Boys! It’s so good:) Well at least I thought so lol. It was one of my favourite books from last year. And your Diviners cover is really pretty! Great list!

  13. I was going to put Tiger Lily on my list, and I totally forgot! I love your list though, I should have also put The Vicious Deep. :)

  14. angelicreader says:

    I am also sitting with The Raven boys and Tiger Lily. They were group reads on Goodreads but I just never got to them.

  15. You have some fantastic books sitting on your shelf, as I’m sure I doas well.Do yourself a favor and read The Diviners (like now).

    Check out my Top Ten!

  16. Quinn says:

    I bought Everneath forever ago, too, and still haven’t read it! Oh and Diviners, too! And not to mention all the ebooks I have. Actually, that is what I am focusing on right now. Getting through ebooks and egalleys. So many books, so little time, as they say :)

    • Merin says:

      I know. I have so many e-galleys. That’s pretty much all I’ve been reading this year, and all I’m going to be reading until June. I have a schedule all planned out so that I can get through them prior to publication (or right after). And then I’m NOT going to request any others, unless three very specific titles become available that I really want to read (Thornhill, Dance of the Red Death, and Dark Shore). June is going to be my “me” month (I’m celebrating my birthday by only reading what I want!), so I have to get all the galleys done before then!

  17. I have like 1000 books that could get on this list! :D I’d love to get The Diviners, looks like a great read.

    My TTT

  18. Katie says:

    Great List! I am so glad to see that I am not the only that hasn’t read Delirium and The Selection. This week my list is books that I feel as though everyone has read but me and Delirium is on that list. Here’s my TTT: http://thebooksphere.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/top-ten-tuesday-5-top-ten-rewind/

  19. MERIN. Everneath. The Diviners. The Raven Boys! Girl, you have some serious catching up to do! Those three are amazing books – hopefully you’ll get to them soon and that you’ll LOVE them. :) I can’t wait for you to read The Catastrophic History of You and Me as well. A lot of my friends loved it, so I hope you do, too. Bah, I’ve got too many unread books sitting on my shelves as well!

  20. I, too bought Everneath on one of my book buying binges and have yet to read it, even though I heard it was amazing. And the same can be said for Black City. But a really sad fact about me is I checked out Incarnate and The Diviners from the library, because I had to have them and I didn’t even read them! Sad yes I know! :)

    Thanks for dropping by Read. Sleep. Repeat. this week :)

  21. This is a great topic. I have sooooo many books sitting on my shelf that I couldn’t live without, but I still haven’t read. The Raven Boys and The Diviners are both great reads…if you get around to them. ;)

  22. I have a few of these books sitting around unread, too. Actually, I have over 60 books that I’ve actually paid for (versus kindle freebies or paperbackswap books) just sitting around unread. Time to get to reading! I will say, though, that I LOVED the Unearthly series and would recommend moving that one up!

    I chose Top 10 Books I Want to Reread. You can check it out here

  23. Merin! Don’t say it.. we WILL get to all of them :P

    I haven’t read Everneath yet either (gah.. how long ago was your giveaway? … Such a shame). The Diviners has been at 46% complete since October… I’m sure it’s a DNF at this point but I had doing that, haha. It’s too long and I’m obviously the only person who doesn’t LOVE it. The Wishing Spell is just so beautiful. I love Chris Colfer and I’d love to put this away for my children(that I don’t have, haha… I rationalize a lot of books this way :S). Great topic choice Merin, I think we could do a years worth of TTT with this topic and still have more to add, haha.

  24. nikihawkes says:

    OOooh! Most of these are on my TBR list too! I hope they are as good as they look. :)

  25. Ohhh I really want to read Black City! I was not impressed with Everneath but Nicole said Everbound is MUCH better so I plan to start that soon. I hope you enjoy The Raven Boys, It was good!

    Thanks for stopping by :)

    Ashley @ The Quiet Concert

  26. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #46 –

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.