Waiting on Wednesday #48

wowbanner

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m Waiting on Wednesday for The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers):

coldestgirlincoldtownTana lived in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Why I’m looking forward to this book:

Um, hello, it’s Holly Black! Admittedly I’m a little done with vampires (although I loved The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa), but if anyone can do them well with unique twists and turns, it’s Holly. I’m looking forward to seeing what she has in store for us!

Release Date: September 17, 2013

What are you waiting on this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Waiting on Wednesday #48

  1. Kai A. says:

    I love Holly Black! I’m so looking forward to this book as well, it sounds fab.

    Check out our WoW picks for this week!

  2. I really like the sound of this one. I’m not sure I have it on my to-read list but I’ve seen it around a lot and I hope it turns out to be great. Enjoy reading it! Great pick!
    Come check out my WOW post.

  3. Wow, this sounds interesting. I haven’t heard of it yet. Thanks for sharing. Another to add to my TBR list :)

    My WoW

  4. Dina says:

    I am also kind of done with vampires (minus The Eternity Cure and The Vampire Diaries show). This book sounds intriguing though and something that I would read.

  5. Krystianna says:

    I’m really excited for this one as well! The cover is really cool looking. I haven’t read anything by Holly Black, though I’ve heard some pretty great things. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Maria@Queen of All She Reads says:

    I like the sound of this book! Good choice.

    Here’s my WoW

  7. Totally agree! If it’s Holly Black, it’s going to be super original, creeptastic, and amazing! So excited for this one too :D

  8. That is a seriously cool cover!

  9. MsJohannah says:

    Awesome cover! I’m done with vampires also. But I might try it in a few months… since I think that will be a book theme month soon. :)

  10. Yeah, I’m very excited about this one as well! I can’t wait to see what she is going to do :)

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  11. Quinn says:

    I’ve only read one Holly Black book, Tithe, but I wasn’t madly in love. I mean, I thought it was well-written, but books about the fey aren’t my favorite. But I should try out her other books. I’ve very curious about The White Cat books.

  12. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #49 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.