Bout of Books 7.0 :: Sign-Up, Goals, and Daily Updates

boutofbooks

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

I’ve never done a read-a-thon before, and this one isn’t exactly happening at an optimum time (I have SO much going on at work, as I prepare for the end of the school year), so was debating on and off about whether or not I was going to participate in this challenge. Obviously I ultimately decided I’d give it a try, so, this is my sign-up AND goals post all rolled into one, since things kick off on Monday.

My Goals

I’m not making a page number or books read goal for this. Instead, I’m going to list the titles I want to get through. This includes two in-progress books, a novella, my weekly goal for a read-along I’m participating in, and two books I haven’t started but plan on reviewing for Friday/next Monday. This is more than I would normally read in a week (I work M-F, so that eats up a lot of reading time), so we’ll see how it goes!

List of Titles for Bout of Books 7.0:

  • What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang (finish – currently on page 120) – COMPLETED 5/14
  • Black City by Elizabeth Richards (read through page 274 for Read-Along goal)
  • Star Cursed by Jessica Spotswood (finish – currently at 30%) – COMPLETED 5/14
  • Undone by Elizabeth Norris (start and finish this novella) – COMPLETED 5/15
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (start and finish this book) – COMPLETED 5/19

BONUS: Start Unbreakable by Elizabeth Norris if there’s time – STARTED!

Reviews to Write:

  • Scarlet by Marissa Meyer – COMPLETED 5/12
  • Star Cursed by Jessica Spotswood – COMPLETED 5/15
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – COMPLETED 5/19
  • What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang – COMPLETED 5/16

Posts to Write:

  • Top Ten Tuesday for 5/14 – COMPLETED 5/13
  • Stacking the Shelves for 5/18 – COMPLETED 5/17

Daily Updates

Monday, May 13th:
Today’s Read(s):
starcursed
Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~157 pages (now 71% complete)

Tuesday, May 14th:
Today’s Read(s):
starcursed whatsleftofme
Number of books I’ve read today: 2
Number of pages I’ve read today: ~366 pages
Total number of books read: 2
Total number of pages read: ~523 pages

Wednesday, May 15th:
Today’s Read(s):
undone siegeandstorm unbreakable
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages I’ve read today: 147
Total number of books read: 3
Total number of pages read: ~670

Thursday, May 16th:
Today’s Read(s):
siegeandstorm
Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Number of pages I’ve read today: 18 (No time to read today!)
Total number of books read: 3
Total number of pages read: ~688

Friday, May 17th:
Today’s Read(s):
siegeandstorm
Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Number of pages I’ve read today: 32
Total number of books read: 3
Total number of pages read: ~720

Saturday, May 18th:
Today’s Read(s):
siegeandstorm
Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Number of pages I’ve read today: 72
Total number of books read: 3
Total number of pages read: ~792

Sunday, May 19th:
Today’s Read(s):
siegeandstorm
Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Number of pages I’ve read today: 336
Total number of books read: 4
Total number of pages read: 1128

signature2

This entry was posted in Reading Challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Bout of Books 7.0 :: Sign-Up, Goals, and Daily Updates

  1. Fahima says:

    I love how you’ve organised your post, so neat :D Looks like you’ve got a great stack! All the best :)

    I Read, Ergo I Write

  2. Quinn says:

    I did my signup and goals post together too, and posted it today. I’ve never participated in a readathon, and I have to say, I’m really excited about this one. Good luck on your goals!

  3. Molli says:

    I love this read-a-long, but every time I’ve TRIED to do it, I always peter out around the third day. So I may informally do it without signing up, since I need to power through some review books before my vacation starts next week.

    Siege and Storm! Ooh, Merin if you read it, Tweet me so we can discuss? It’s SO GOOD. I just can’t even deal with it.

    • Merin says:

      I definitely will! I am super excited about Siege and Storm because I’ve heard all these amazing things about it. I can’t wait to start it! It will be my treat for getting through Star Cursed, which is starting out kind of slow.

  4. And let the games begin! This is my first read-a-thon too. :)

    I love your post. Very organized and cute.

    I actually haven’t read any of the books on your list! I hope you enjoy them!

  5. Wow, you are doing great! :D I really like What’s left of me and I can’t wait to read Siege & Storm. Good luck!

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    • Merin says:

      Thanks, Mel! I really slowed down Thursday and Friday, but work is just SO busy that I’m super tired when I get home. Makes it hard to get any reading done when you’re falling asleep! :)

  6. Way to write reviews and read a lot! You are having a very productive week! =)

  7. Thanks for stopping by mines! OMG how are you finding Star Cursed? It looks like a good read (crosses fingers). I’m still on my 2nd book :( but I have 4 chapters left so yay!

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

  8. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #50 | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.