State of Merin

stateofmerin

Wow, can you believe it’s already September? I can’t believe another month is over! Time is absolutely flying.

August was a rather interesting and crazy month, because school started back, but not when it was supposed to. I didn’t get into this then, because it was (and still is) a hot button issue (and also we were sort of asked not to talk about it all that much on social media sites), but I actually work in the school district near where Michael Brown was shot in Ferguson, MO. Initially we were supposed to start back to school on August 14th, but the start was postponed until the 18th, and then again until the 25th due to all of the protesting and unrest in the area. The school I work at isn’t really all that close to where everything was happening, but several schools in the district were, so the district decided it was better to be safe than sorry. This obviously left things in a bit of an upheaval, and left me rearranging schedules and trying to figure things out. Thankfully we’re back now – in our second week – so hopefully things can continue to get back to normal. Fingers crossed.

ilovemyfirstgraders

While it’s too soon to really tell for sure, I am thinking this year’s group of students – who have been amazing thus far – are going to be a bit better behaved this year than last year’s group. My class last year just talked constantly, and I felt like I spent the majority of my time trying to get them quiet so I could actually teach them, or so we could do an activity, etc. This year’s group quiets down at a simple reminder, and I’ve been able to get through things at a pretty good pace (their lack of writing speed as of yet notwithstanding). I can only hope that continues; first grade really is a make or break year – if you’re behind coming out of first grade, where so many concepts are introduced and you’re actually learning to read, it’s nearly impossible to get caught up. That’s a scary thought in a way, because so much is riding on me personally to get my students where they need to be, but at the same time is kind of exciting because they really are basically blank pages and I get to teach them all kinds of stuff. I look forward to seeing where this group will be at the end of the year!

And that was basically a big old education ramble, so sorry about that. Aside from work – we’ve been to two PD days already, as well as all of our usual Orientation Week stuff – my life is pretty humdrum boring. Which is good because I can only handle so much at one time, and a new school year is always a big adjustment.

signature2

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to State of Merin

  1. Livvy @The Absent Historian says:

    Hope things settle down for you soon, Merin and things get back to normal. Sounds like it has been quite a busy few weeks and a little hectic!

  2. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

