Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post asked us to list ten characters that we had trouble clicking with. My list is compiled of the ones that immediately popped into my head (which actually are the first two on this list), and then the ones I remembered as I perused my Goodreads “read” shelf. I’m sure there were more – I still had 6 pages of “read” books to go when I found #10 – but these were ones that I remembered upon seeing the cover and immediately went, “OH yeah.”

So here’s my list!

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

ttt93

hushhush

1) Nora Gray from the Hush, Hush books
UGH, this girl. Aside from having issue with the book as a whole, I had serious issues with the way Nora viewed the other females in the story, and also the fact that – even though she KNEW there was something going on with Patch – she continued to bury her head in the sand.

shadowandbone

2) Mal from The Grisha Trilogy
Keeping in mind that I haven’t read the third book yet, Mal seriously drove me nuts. I felt like he really only liked Alina when she was weak and uncertain. As soon as she grew a spine (or, realized her Grisha power), he really didn’t want anything to do with her and just complained and made her feel terrible about herself. Just, no thanks, dude!

goddesstest

3) Kate from The Goddess Test books
I actually really liked Kate in the first book, until she turned into a whiny, overly dramatic mess in book two. I can’t get over her rants about Persephone, and the issues she drug up between her and Henry. She went from a really strong girl who was fighting for her mom to someone I really didn’t like by the end.

harrietthespy

4) Harriet from Harriet the Spy
My issues with Harriet stem from the fact that I have TERRIBLE secondhand embarrassment. And when Harriet gets caught spying and her friends all turn on her, I just could NOT handle it. It made the entire reading experience very uncomfortable for me.

hungergames

5) Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games
I had a hard time with this book in general, but an especially hard time warming up to Katniss herself. I don’t even know what it was about her – I can’t pinpoint any one thing – but I just … really had a difficult time with her and her relationship with Peeta.

firelight

6) Jacinda from the Firelight books
Oh, Jacinda. She is a classic case of a girl who knows exactly what she should avoid – in this case a boy who happens to be a draki hunter – but resolutely doesn’t do it. She was just really REALLY stupid overall and, yeah. Really didn’t like her (or this book).

ScarletUS.indd

7) Scarlet from the Scarlet books
Gotta admit, this girl drove me NUTS. Not only does she use weird dialect when she talks (which was especially irritating since she is our POV character) but she has a martyr complex the size of the Grand Canyon and also gets involved in a love triangle that just bothered me to no end. Honestly, of all the people on this list, Scarlet is the one that I had the most issues with. I truly didn’t like her one iota.

fury

8) Em from the Fury Trilogy
Em was – to be blunt – a horrid person in this book. She cheats with her best friend’s boyfriend while justifying how much said friend deserves it, and she’s horrid to the one boy who DOES love her, using him over and over again until he finally has enough. All in all, not a character one really feels sorry for, even if she does attract the attention of the ancient Furies of Greek mythology.

throneofglass

9) Celaena from Throne of Glass
I haven’t read any of the other books, so my opinion of Celaena is based entirely on this book alone, but there was just something about her – aside from her love of books which I can wholeheartedly get behind – that just bothered me.

splintered

10) Morpheus from Splintered
I actually had issues with ALL of the characters in this book, but Morpheus, especially, piqued my ire more than the others. He was just so manipulative (and kind of skeezy and creepy and gross) with Alyssa that I couldn’t get over it. He was another case of someone using someone else for his own gains, and I hated that he COULD have been straight with her and still gotten what he’d wanted because she cared for him. Just. UGH, seriously.

Flergs_SpringFling_StitchedConfetti1

So that’s my list for this week! Which characters made yours? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

  1. Literary Feline says:

    My list was compiled in a similar fashion, actually. :-) At first only a couple came to mind and once I looked over the books I’d read, suddenly a few more popped out at me. I haven’t read any of the books you mention, save Harriet the Spy and The Hunger Games. I can see what you mean about that particular story line in Harriet the Spy.

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    I can totally understand what you mean about Mal! :-) It’s interesting to read your reasons for not connecting with a character.

  3. This list was hard and I had to really search around for characters it seemed, because I overlook faulty characters quickly in favor of ones that I really like anyway. My TTT is a mishmash for sure.

    Your list made sense to me for the books I had read, especially the Splintered comments. Yep…

  4. Katniss? She was such a reluctant hero. That was my point of connection. I would be reluctant, too.

    My TTT

  5. I put Katniss on my list, too. My problem was her lack of emotion. I didn’t so much mind the relationship, but I had no investment in it because she didn’t seem to either.

  6. signourney says:

    I have Katniss on my list as well.
    I also understand having Celeana on there. It took me three books to warm up to her.

  7. I understand why you had Celaena on there, even though I love her, I admit, it takes a while to warm up to her and I wasn’t keen on her after the first book either.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/top-ten-tuesday-20/

  8. Great list! I ended up DNFing Throne of Glass after just a couple of chapters and I’m not really interested in the series at all, if I’d read a little more of the book I think Celaena would have made my list, too.

  9. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Awk, I am SO WITH YOU on Mal!! I LOATHE HIM. I couldn’t even believe his attitude in the second book, gah! I adore Sturmhond and he’s so epic that I think his fabulousness makes Mal seem even worse. >_> Also Nora. Nope to Nora. She is so needy and just, deluded?!?! I pressed on to Crescendo but GAH. I’m quitting the series now. -_- Here’s my TTT!

  10. Jazmin Jade says:

    I totally agree with all the Splintered characters and the only reason why they didn’t make my list is because I couldn’t think of which one annoyed me most. I am not finishing the series purely because I hated the characters. Great list :)

  11. CJ Dawn says:

    I almost put Katniss on my list, for basically the same reason you mentioned. I didn’t like her because of the way she treated Peeta. I thought he deserved better. Here is my TTT

  12. I agree with Mal & Katniss. Everyone seems to love Katniss but she just never really did it for me. The entire time I read the series I just kept thinking how much i disliked her. Great list!!

  13. Elin says:

    I loved Nora from Hush Hush. Only read the first book, but hope to read rest of the series soon. I did have problem with some of the things that happened in the first book, but I felt that wasn’t only her fault. Kind of agree about Katniss, mostly because I do not like love triangle.

  14. Carrie says:

    oooo yeah – secondhand embarrassment is a big one for me too! I could probably come up with 10 more characters for today’s list based on that criteria alone lol :) My TTT

  15. I agree that Mal was so difficult to click with in the first two books! Hopefully your opinion on him lightens a bit when you read Ruin and Rising! :)

    Here’s my Top Ten!

  16. bftreviews says:

    I didn’t like Mal from Shadow and Bone either. He didn’t get any better in the third book either.Great list!

  17. Pingback: August in Review | Read and Reviewed

  18. Pingback: September in Review | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.

