Top Ten Books Dealing with Tough Subjects

tttbanner

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list that one of the bloggers there at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday post is our Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects. I don’t think of myself as someone who reads a lot of “issue” books, so was surprised at how simple this list was to put together. There are a variety of tough subjects covered in this list, from drug addiction to abuse, to bullying and eating disorders, just to name a few. In case you’re interested in what the “tough subject” covered in each book is, I’ve added that in parentheses beneath the title/author info.

crankCrank by Ellen Hopkins
(SUBJECT: Drug addiction)

mehimthemanditMe, Him, Them, and It by Caela Carter
(SUBJECT: Teen pregnancy)

papervalentinePaper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff
(SUBJECT(S): Eating disorders/grief/guilt)

ifIlieIf I Lie by Corrine Jackson
(SUBJECT: Bullying)

heroindiariesThe Heroin Diaries by Nikki Sixx
(SUBJECT: Drug addiction)

thisisnotatestThis Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers
(SUBJECT: Grief)

whitelinesWhite Lines by Jennifer Banash
(SUBJECT(S): Drug addiction/abuse)

goodbraiderThe Good Braider by Terry Farish
(SUBJECT(S): Refugee’s journey/rape/abuse)

breakingbeautifulBreaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf
(SUBJECT: Abuse)

intothearmsInto the Arms of Strangers by Deborah Oppenheimer & Mark Jonathan Harris
(SUBJECT: WWII/The Holocaust)

What titles made your list this week? Please link me!

signature2

This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Top Ten Books Dealing with Tough Subjects

  1. I’ve heard such good things about crank
    My Top Ten

  2. I think Crank is the only Ellen Hopkins books I haven’t read, but it’s definitely at the top of my list!! Great list.

    My Top Ten

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    Fab list! I really want to read Paper Valentine. I like the look of Crank too. :D

  4. Rebecca says:

    I’ve never read anything by Ellen Hopkins before, but I’ve heard a lot about her books and I’d like to pick them up at some point. Nice list. :D

  5. KateB says:

    Crank looks so interesting – I’m another one that’s not read any Ellen Hopkins but she seems so different and her style so unique. I think I need to experience her work. Great list :)

  6. I’ve never heard of Arm of Strangers. Going to look it up :)

    My Top Ten

  7. Rachel says:

    This is Not a Test and Paper Valentine are two of my favorite books of all time! I recommend them as much as I can because they do involve other elements besides just the tough issue, but it’s a nice balance. Paper Valentine left me in tears at the end.

  8. I liked This is Not a Test. I still need to pick up Paper Valentine. I’ve heard great things. Great list!
    Natflix&Books’ TTT

  9. I haven’t read any of the books you’ve listed, but I’m a huge fan of serious stories, so I’ll have to give them a try. Thanks!

  10. Amber H. says:

    some of these really sucked in my interest. I have added a few of them to my to-read pile and might start trying to read one serious heart-wrenching book a month. thanks for the post!

  11. Cecelia says:

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list, but PAPER VALENTINE and THIS IS NOT A TEST are on the ‘to read next’ pile. I love how personal all of our picks are this week – I think it is indicative of the different ways in which a book can touch different readers. Thanks for sharing!

    If you’d like, you can check out my list here.

  12. I need to read Paper Valentine! I love books that deal with tough subjects but also have a overarching plotline, paranormal/sci-fi/fantasy elements, otherwise for me it’s just way too depressing all around.

  13. Quinn says:

    Oooo, Paper Valentine. That’s a great pick. I should have thought of that one. I really liked that one.

    Great picks!

  14. I loved Paper Valentine. I loved how it combined themes of grief and guilt with the murder mystery/paranormal bits. It was so well done.

  15. I want to read Paper Valentine!

  16. Nicole says:

    I absolutely loved If I Lie. I am so glad to see this on your list too! I totally forgot about Crank but that’s a perfect one. I still need to read and am looking forward to many of these!

    Thanks for stopping by!
    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  17. MsJohannah says:

    I actually Read heroin Diaries. And loved it! I want to read more diaries like nikki sixx’s because I felt like I know him now that I’ve read that. Great list!

  18. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #50 | Read and Reviewed

  19. Pingback: Bout of Books 7.0 Wrap-Up Post | Read and Reviewed

Thanks for visiting! I love receiving comments and do my best to respond to all of them. However, due to time constraints, this blog is now an award and tag free zone. I really appreciate the thought, but just don't have the time to pass them on.